Jazzmaster-Style Build

Hey everyone, my first post here. I am doing this build as a way to practice my neck building for a commission I have coming up. I have done a set neck before, but this will be my first bolt-on, and I am just making sure that I have things down before I move on to the commission. In all honesty, I messed up the first time I went to work on it, so I am really backtracking to get it down before I try again. The mistake was simple (the fretboard moved out of alignment when I glued it), but it still bugged the hell out of me.

I have done only a few guitars, so I am by no means an expert, but I love to build, and I strive for absolute perfection. However, I think that learning how to fix mistakes is also a good skill, not just giving up the first time things go wrong, which is kind of how things have went for me so far... So hopefully posting here will give me a little kick to keep pushing with what I have set out to do, and not just give up.

So here we go!

Some pictures first...

photo3.jpg

So here is the wood for this one, I had a big plank of Padauk and got it all sized up and true for both the shaft and got a piece cut off for the fretboard, so hopefully they age similarly. The body will be 1-piece of nice Sapele mahogany.

photo.jpg

Here are the shapes I have made up. I'm sure people's first responses will be "...that looks like xxxx" but honestly I just sat down with a pencil and some paper and drew out things that I liked. Of course the entire time I am sure I was thinking about guitars that I liked, so it probably looks like those. Who knows...

photo2.jpg

A little more guitar shaped with the templates...

photo1.jpg

The other reason I am gonna do this build is because my extra parts box is nice and full of some spare parts. I have about 2 guitars worth in here.