My First Project Has Started

Hello Everybody,

I'm new to the board and have recently started my first solid body guitar project. The guitar I’m building is sort of a Telly thing, but with slightly tilted body shape. The specs for my guitar are as follows:

2-piece ash Body

1-piece bolt on neck (maple) with walnut fretboard

Reverse headstock

21 frets medium

25,5 inch scale

Electronics mounted on pickguard

3 single coil pickup configuration

1 tone control

1 volume control

5 way switch

Below you can see some images of what I’ve done so far. Please comment!

Basic Drawing of the body (I've changed the pickup config and tone-control layout):

IMGP0587s.jpg

Basic drawing of the headstock:

IMGP0588s.jpg

Two-piece ash body:

IMGP0614s.jpg

Pickguard sawed out, note the changed configuration:

IMGP0701s.jpg

Body sawed out, and shaped:

IMGP0702s.jpg

Trying out a stain for the body on a left over piece of ash:

IMGP0743s.jpg

Since this is my first project, i've probably not done everything in the correct order (I think I've shold have done all the routing before sawing out the body for example). I've rather done it in the order I got my hands on the various tools...

Best regards

Johnny Guitar

Thanks for the replies; here is another photo of the body from a differnet angle:

IMGP0689s.jpg

btw, prs man, is that your PRS in the picture? Looking good! I've been GAS:ing for this for a while, but the price scars me off a bit:

http://www.tiptop.se/cgi-bin/multipage.cgi?id=332

28900SEK~4200USD...

My project will be "restarted" in a few weeks when I have vacation. It's been on hold for a while.

Best regards

Johnny Guitar

What PRS? I'm going mad or something-- don't see any PRS in any of those pics. :D

LOVE this project, Johnny! The shape, headstock, everything-- look well thought-out and unique, while not being "bizarre." Looking forward to seeing this one as it goes!