Ibanez S7 Clone

after two months of making templates and jigs, i'm finally ready to start this project. and i'm ready to post my work for everybody to see -- i'm an unpublished novelist, so i'm used to folks savaging my work. :D

i've built paneled rail and stile furniture from pine and oak. i'm a pretty good amateur woodworker, but i'm not at the semi-pro level that lots of our forum regulars are at. i've been working on a maple neck-thru 7-string V since last summer, inspired by Wes's neck-thru V. it's ready for finishing, which is definately my weakest area. i'm going to try a blue sand-back stain on that nice figured maple.

the S7 clone body i designed to fit an old 540S7 neck. the outline and profile will be the same as a 540S7, except thicker -- standard Strat 1 3/4" thickness instead of 1 1/2". the thicker Saber idea i got from an LA Custom neck-thru Ibanez S7 that i have.

wood: alder -- this one is a prototype so i can iron out all the bugs. later i want to build one each out of mahogany and cherry.

pickups: a tom anderson 7-string single coil in the neck that i scored used for $10, and a dimarzio humbucker at the bridge -- probably a Tone Zone 7, depending on what i have lying around.

bridge: Lo Pro Edge 7 trem.

electronics: one of my rediculous 24-pole superswitch coil cut schemes that has a push/pull pot to switch the guitar into a single coil mode. i'll have to simplify things with only two pickups.

finish -- blue stain, maybe a blueburst if the finish on my V goes well, with rattlecan nitro laquer over top.

here's my body template laid out on the blank -- time to start making sawdust.

S7-bodyblank.jpg

Edited by scott from _actual time_